STWM Half Training Begins

Today is the first day of my Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront (Half) Marathon training schedule!

Right now, I’m excited, but a little nervous about training for a fall half marathon, mostly because I am not a warm weather runner.  I much prefer the cold, because I can always add more layers but with the heat, there is only so appropriately naked you can get and so much liquid you can take in, because essentially you still end up being a hot sweaty mess.  And Canada is not the cold place that people seem to think it is.  Today its going up to 30C (86F) and feeling like 39C with humidity (102F) which is just plain silly.  Toronto has issued an extreme heat alert.  The thought of just going for a run is making me sweat at my desk a little bit.

There is a way to beat the heat a little bit though, which leads me to what is going to be the hardest part of my training for this race – becoming a morning runner, because running at my regular time of 4pm just isn’t possible in the summer.

While most people are either a morning or a night person – I am a day person.  I’m useful for 14 hours out of the day between 7am and 9pm, a period of time that doesn’t involve either getting up early or staying up late.  Anything out of the time frame and you aren’t going to get much use out of me.  But now I’m going to have to set that alarm for 6am and go out for a run so that I don’t melt into a puddle on the sidewalk.

In a former life I was a competitive swimmer and had 5 morning workouts a week and was regularly up at 5 to be out the door at 5:20 to be in the pool at 6, so I know that this is possible for me to do this – I just need a kick in the pants.

And what could be a better kick than the thought of running with thousands of runners in October?  Just know that if all of them can get out of bed to train for October 20, so can I.

Who’s going to be up with me at 6 tomorrow?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to STWM Half Training Begins

  1. The STWM will be my first real race. My friends are trying to convince me to do the half, but I’m not a running, so I might be doing the 5k. I’ll definitely be up with your tomorrow at 6 to go for a run before the extreme heat kicks in 🙂

    • Lindsay says:

      Good luck!

      I’ve done the half and the 5k at previous STWM races and both are good – nice and flat and fast! It’s a fun one for your first race

      6am was early this morning and I’m getting sleepy at work today because of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

