Gearing Up for 2014!

The end of 2013 is almost here and the impending question of “what are you New Year’s resolutions” is bound to be coming.  I’ve decied that I’m not setting resolutions – I’m setting goals.

What is the difference?  I think resolutions are more big picture and have a less than likely of being successful because they are just broad claims, like “I’m going to quite smoking” or “I’m going to lose 100 pounds” that have measurable outcomes, but no actual plan.  People make these statements, and then are shocked when everything has fallen apart 3 weeks in.  On the other hand, goals have both measurable outcomes and steps that you plan on how you will reach your goals.  

Resolutions make you feel guilty, while goals keep you in check.

My Goals for 2014 (both running and non running related)

1. 25 minute 5K
In order to do this, I need to increase my speed.  I have found that while I do most of my running on my own, or with my dog, I am very unlikely to do anything fast when I’m not with people.  To try and increase my speed, I’ve signed up with the XSNRG running club and am going to start going to their Tuesday night running sessions in January.  I have a feeling that I’m going to get my butt kicked, but I think training with a group will be just the kick in the pants that I need.

2. Improve my core strength
On January 1, I will record my crunch, leg lifts and plank records.  First of each month I will do the same and mark the improvements.  I will go to the gym and work on strength 3 times a week.  

3. Pay off my debt
Extra $100/paycheck will go to my various payments. Time for me to pull up my big girl pants and be a proper adult.

4. Be a better friend
I suck at keeping in contact with people that I don’t seem on a daily basis and I have the tendency to be a hermit.  I will email an out of town friend once a week.

That’s it.  I think that there should probably 5 to be a nice number, but I think that I’m going to focus on doing those four the best that I can.

Happy Holidays and Happy New Years!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

