Wheeeee…. Gulp

I’ve just done something that was both extremely awesome and extremely scary all at the same time.

Registered for Ironman Muskoka 2015.

And now I might dance or throw up at the thought of that this is something that I’m going to actually do.

Ironman has always been one of those things that I’ve thought would be amazing but completely insane to do.  I ran one marathon and quickly decided that it was something that I had no interest in doing again.  My attention span is really short which can make cycling a tedious task on the best of days.  I’m a bigger fan of short and fast than I am of long and grinding.

But Muskoka is having an Ironman.  I was born and raised in Muskoka.  The thought of doing an Ironman in its inaugural year in my hometown is just too much to pass up.

And now I’m going to do it.  Because I’ve lost all sanity, apparently.

Things I’m Confident In:
1. The Swim – From looking at other people’s twitters and blogs, a lot of new Ironman participants are nervous about the swim.  I haven’t been in the pool in 3 years, but I was a competitive swimmer back in the day and am confident in my ability to do 3.8K with relative ease, especially with more than a year to prepare.  Potentially the easiest part of the day 🙂
2. My Support System – The Husband is on board to be my Official Sherpa, Cheerleader and Listener When I Whine. Friends and family are excited.  Going to be working with a coach.

Things I’m Nervous About:
1. The Bike – The straight hard fact is that I don’t enjoy riding, and 180KM is a really far ride.  My problem on the bike isn’t so much physical as mental.  I get bored.  Also, unlike The Run, where you can walk, you can’t “fake” The Bike. This course is tough because Muskoka is hilly.  I actually did the math yesterday to see how slow I could go and still make the bike cut off and thought “that isn’t so bad”.  Still scary though.
2. Fuelling – This is a whole new beast to me and its going to be a lot of trial and error during training and I know that everything on “the day” could go sideways regardless of the practice that you did with it.  To be honest, I just don’t want to poop myself 😛
3. Finishing – I’m not so much afraid of the time limit, but the Ironman is a mental game.  I want to be strong enough to get through this in my mind.  If I don’t finish, I don’t want it to be because I just gave up. I am the little engine that could.  I think I can.  

Things The Need To Be Done Sooner Rather than Later:
1. Set up coaching and a plan – I’m meeting up with my (potential) coach on Tuesday.  A year is a long time but not at the same time.  To be ready then, I need to get ready now.
2. Get the bike out of storage – I did a lot of sprint and Olympic distance tris back in the day.  I have an acceptable bike (nothing fantastic, but my Giant OCR can get the job done), but it has been collecting dust in a shed for the past couple years.  Needs a tune up, new tires, pedals and shoes at minimum.
3. Buy some new goggles – pulled my swim stuff out of the closet last night to discover that my goggles need to be replaced!

This is scary.  But awesome.  Eeek!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

