A Year of Training – Week 1 – Back In The Pool

This was the week that I got back in the water.  Roughly, I don’t think that I’ve been swimming at all in two years, and haven’t gone to lane swim regularly for 4.  It was tough to get back in the pool, but not as tough as it could have been.

When speaking to my coach about training for the Ironman and getting back in the pool, we laughed about how quickly swimmers lose their feel for the water.  It comes back quickly, but after a long break, the first couple weeks are a little rough.

After 4 years, it’s more than just a little rough.

Immediately, I could tell that ‘the feel’ wasn’t there.  At least I could feel that the feel wasn’t there though, so I guess that is something. Swimming along, I was feeling ok for about 150m and then my arms went “heyyyyy… we remember this.  STOP THIS.  WE ARE RETIRED.”

Kept going though – 2100m the first time back in the pool.  Lots of drill 50s because they are short and easier, but 2100 is 2100.

There was a lot of laughing at myself under water, some choking on water because apparently I haven’t remembered how to breath, and water in my ear that I hadn’t missed, but I had a good time.

Weekly totals:
Swim: 6000m
Bike: 0
Run: 24km
Gym: 1 hour 25 minutes

Time Total – 7:02.14

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

