Race Report – 2015 Toronto Yonge Street 10K

Toronto Yonge Street 10K – the annual tradition of running mostly downhill in Toronto with 6000 of the friendliest runners ever!

I’ve been a little curious about how this race was going to go for awhile.  This is the first race that I’ve done since starting training with Coach Brock for Ironman Muskoka this August and I knew that my training had been pretty solid, but in the end I had no idea how this race was going to turn out.  From looking at SportStats, my prior fastest time for this race was 55:33 from 2008.

Spoiler alert – I destroyed that.

Organization is not always my strong suit and Sunday was a clear example of that when I realised that I had left my watch at home.  No biggie, I’ll just turn RunKeeper on on my phone and it can give me audio updates.  Great plan, until the second I hit start when the gun went off and it said “Start. 10 minutes easy” and I realised that I had it set to do a previous workout… Le sigh.  Earlier in the week I had done a race pace workout with the goal of staying at a 5:18 pace for a 53 minute 10K, but without a watch, I was going to have to gauge pace by feel – something that I am pretty terrible at.  Fortunately I spotted the 52 minute pace bunny in the start corral and decided that I would try and stay with/ahead of him for as long as possible.

The race itself ends up being kind of a blur.  It was a cold and windy day, but it was a great day for run.  I passed that bunny in the first km and then never saw him again.  At some point I joined up with some Parkdale Road Runners and unbeknownst to them I tucked behind to hide from the wind.  Tried to keep up the pace on the flat section and tried to push it between 7-8K – my least favourite part of the course.  Powered through the home stretch – legs felt great through the whole race!

lindsay

Running down Yonge Street

Crossed the line in 51:48!    New adult PB!

Thank you to CRS for another great race!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Race Report – 2015 Toronto Yonge Street 10K

  1. Pingback: A Year of Training – Week 35 | Run, Run, Run, as fast as you can…

Leave a Reply

