Cheerleading at Toronto Women’s Run!

After my workout on Sunday, Cooper and I packed up our cheerleading essentials and walked to the park to cheer for the runner’s at the Toronto Women’s Run event.

I love this little race series, but the only downfall to it is that there aren’t usually a lot of spectators out on the course.  The volunteers are awesome, the Mizuno RunBirds were fantastic, but sometimes you just need a cheerleader, a little pick me up, especially if things are going a little rougher than you’d like, so that’s what Cooper and I did.

We are experienced race cheerleaders and brought most of the essentials – a blanket to sit on, snacks, tea for me, a ball for Cooper, a waterbottle to share and of course: a sign.

View event: http://www.zoomphoto.ca/event/19636/

Cheering on Jenna and Lisa! #TeamSkyFit

View event: http://www.zoomphoto.ca/event/19636/

Go Runners!

Love that I have official race pictures and didn’t actually run 🙂

I didn’t have a cowbell (must invest in one for future cheerleading endeavors) but I’m pretty loud and did have a singing husky mix who is rather unpredictable in timing, but pretty effective in giving runners a few laughs as she woo’d at them running by.

I had lots of fun cheering on these ladies (and a few gents) on Sunday and stayed for almost the entire thing, seeing practically everyone twice (apologies to the last 10 ladies in the half I missed the second time). I got lots of excited comments on their way back like “I saw you near the beginning!  That means I’m almost there!”  They were all super glad to know that:
a) only 900m left!
b) shade up ahead!
c) ‘You look so strong – you can catch the girl in front of you!’

Lots of happy runners, some frustrated runners, and some who were both proud and bewildered with that they were doing “I CAN’T BELIEVE I’M ABOUT TO FINISH A HALF MARATHON!”  Emotions are all over the spectrum in a race, and as a spectator you get to be a part of that journey.  I highly recommend it!

Congratulations on a great day, runners!  So proud to be a part of your day! I can’t wait to be back – either as a runner or a cheerleader.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

